What we think about when we think about privacy
NGHBR allows consumers to earn currency for sharing their whereabouts and answering surveys about their visits. This currency may be redeemed in app,
NGHBR is meant to help you make the most of where you are and we do our best to give you privacy options where we think you'll want them. If you don’t want to share this kind of information, you don’t have to, but that means we can’t personalize your experience.
To make it easier for you to understand how your information is shared on our Services, at the bottom of this page you’ll see exactly how your privacy settings can be adjusted.
Determining location for those who use our consumer services
NGHBR app deals with location, so in order to work best, the apps need to know your location. We use various technologies to determine your location, such as the location services of your operating system or browser and sensor data from your device (e.g. GPS data) that may help us to understand your precise location. Because our apps are location-centric, when they are installed—and at various other times—they prompt users to select location permissions, depending on the type of device.
Our app uses location information in different ways. For example, If you write a story, or otherwise interact with a place, users may infer that you have been to that location. Some content is time stamped and other users could use that information to infer when you were at a place.
What information is public?
When you create an account on NGHBR, the following is viewable to the public. Note that some elements are optional or can be edited.
- Your name You can edit your name by going to your account settings. To use NGHBR you need to provide a first and last name.
- Profile photo Your profile photo and the link to your profile page are viewable by the public. You may choose not to upload a profile photo to your account (or you may upload an avatar in place of a photo of yourself). In your account settings, you can change your profile photo.
- Your bio Your bio is viewable by the public. Including a bio is completely optional. To add, change, or remove your bio, go to your account settings.
- Links to Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram (if they’re connected) If you connect your social accounts, clickable links to your Twitter and/or Facebook profiles will appear on your profile page by default, which means that they are seen publicly. However, you have the ability to remove these Twitter and Facebook links through your account settings.
Is your data shared?
Can you request your data?
Yes. In our updated policy, we’ve explicitly spelled out that users have certain legal rights to their data on request, and the right to withdraw consent at any time. You may have heard about GDPR; the details in section IV specifically addresses this new regulation.
Your privacy is important
The bottom line is that we understand how important privacy is to you. From the beginning we've been working hard to build a range of robust privacy controls to give you control over the amount of information you share about your location. We've been a leader in the location-based services space—popularizing the concept of voluntarily "checking in" to locations and being vocal about how we think about privacy as it relates to location data specifically—and we aspire to be leaders in the way we educate our users on privacy issues related to location awareness.